Ludwig he continued to write his music and he

Ludwig Van Beethoven, also known as Beethoven was a German
composer and pianist. Born and baptized in December 1770 in Bonn, Germany,
Beethoven was the most influential composer in between the Classical and
Romantic eras and still famous among all composers. Beethoven involved in music
at an early age where was taught by his father who was a musician too. In 1778,
Beethoven gave his first public performance in Cologne at the age of 7. In
1782, before the age of 12, Beethoven published his first work, 9 Variations in
C Minor for piano. By the age of 14, he was appointed organist of the court of
Maximillian Franz, the Elector of Cologne. Beethoven’s music evolved and made
numerous acquaintances at Vienna. In 1801 Beethoven confessed that he was
slowly going deaf. Even though he was deaf, he continued to write his music and
he produced many famous pieces such as symphonies, concerto, overture and many

                One of
his famous pieces is The Symphony No. 5 in C minor that was written between
1804 to 1808. It is one of the best-known compositions in classical music, and one
of the most frequently played symphonies which the four-note opening motif in
particular are also known worldwide. This symphony  had a long development process, as Beethoven
worked out the musical ideas for the work. The first “sketches”
(rough drafts of melodies and other musical ideas) date from 1804 following the
completion of the Third Symphony. However, Beethoven repeatedly interrupted his
work on the Fifth to prepare other compositions, including the first version of
Fidelio, the Appassionata piano sonata, the three Razumovsky string quartets,
the Violin Concerto, the Fourth Piano Concerto, the Fourth Symphony, and the
Mass in C. The final preparation of the Fifth Symphony, which took place in
1807–1808, was carried out in parallel with the Sixth Symphony, which premiered
at the same concert.

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now

symphony is in four movements: Allegro con brio (C minor), Andante con moto (A?
major), Scherzo: Allegro (C minor), Allegro (C major). The first movement opens
with the four-note motif which is the  famous motifs in Western where the playing of
the four opening bars and refer to the conductors. Some conductors take it in
strict allegro tempo; others take the liberty of a weighty treatment, playing
the motif in a much slower and more stately tempo; yet others take the motif
molto ritardando (a pronounced slowing through each four-note phrase), arguing
that the fermata over the fourth note justifies this.The second movement, in A? major, the subdominant key of C
minor’s relative key (E? major), is a lyrical work in double variation form, which
means that two themes are presented and varied in alternation. Following the
variations there is a long coda. The movement opens with an announcement of its
theme, a melody in unison by violas and cellos, with accompaniment by the
double basses. A second theme soon follows, with a harmony provided by
clarinets, bassoons, and violins, with a triplet arpeggio in the violas and
bass. A variation of the first theme reasserts itself. This is followed up by a
third theme, thirty-second notes in the violas and cellos with a counterphrase
running in the flute, oboe, and bassoon. Following an interlude, the whole
orchestra participates in a fortissimo, leading to a series of crescendos and a
coda to close the movement. The third movement is in ternary form, consisting
of a scherzo and trio. It follows the traditional mold of Classical-era
symphonic third movements, containing in sequence the main scherzo, a
contrasting trio section, a return of the scherzo, and a coda. However, while
the usual Classical symphonies employed a minuet and trio as their third
movement, Beethoven chose to use the newer scherzo and trio form. The fourth
movement begins without pause from the transition. The music resounds in C
major, an unusual choice by the composer as a symphony that begins in C minor
is expected to finish in that key.


Main structure of Sonata Allegro form of the first movement
in details:

The four note opening motif is one of the most famous sounds
in classical music. The instruments involved are violin, viola, cello and
double bass and the motif can be seen almost the same. The clarinets and the
strings are all playing in unison.


The exposition in sonata form and theme are introduced in the
first section of the movement. There are usually two main themes in classical
sonata form but there can be less or more.

Theme 1: The first beat of the first bar is a quaver or ti
rest followed by three quavers (ti). The second bar is a minim with a pause
sign above.

Bridge: Heralds the arrival of the second theme. Theme 1 is
played fortissimo followed by minims tied together. For a total of 26 beats.

Theme 2: Contrasts the first theme. The dynamic is piano (soft)
with the direction to play dolce (sweetly). The theme has a four bar melody
with an even rhythm using crotchet beats.



development is where the composer plays around with the themes, making them
different by using a variety of compositional techniques including the changing
mood, the change into several tempo, adding sounds and dissonance. Besides,
this symphony uses parts of themes which involved different combinations of
instrument it also involved the changing key from major to minor and changing
rhythms such as doubling or halving the value of the notes. In this symphony,
it also inverting the themes or changing the order of the notes. Beethoven
using the highlighted techniques in the development of th